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An arrest typically 
happens at an active 
crime scene or as the 
result of an 
investigation.

West Virginia state, 
county, or municipal law 
enforcement may 
conduct investigations 
and arrests. 

After being arrested, you 
will be booked in jail. 
You will have your 
personal information, 
photograph, and 
fingerprints recorded at 
this time. 

You will get one phone 
call. You have the right 
to remain silent through 
all questioning until you 
have an attorney 
present.

Law Enforcement 
Assisted Diversion 
(LEAD) is a pre-booking 
program that allows law 
enforcement officers to 
give low-level offenders 
the opportunity for 
rehabilitation in the 
place of incarceration.

  Prosecutors decide 
whether to file formal 
charges against you. 
Prosecutors can file 
charges on all crimes for 
which the police 
arrested you, can file 
charges that are more or 
less severe than the 
charges leveled by the 
police, or can decide not 
to file any charges at all. 
In cases where the 
arrest does not happen 
at the crime scene, the 
charges may be filed 
and an arrest warrant 
issued prior to jail 
booking. 

The magistrate will set 
bail and allow you 
reasonable time and 
opportunity to consult 
with at least one relative 
or other person for the 
purpose of obtaining 
counsel or arranging 
bail.

Magistrates hear 
misdemeanor cases and 
conduct preliminary 
examinations in felony 
cases. Unless you waive 
your right to a 
preliminary examination, 
it will be held no later 
than 10 days following 
your initial appearance if 
you are in jail or no later 
than 20 days if you are 
not in jail.

Circuit Courts have 
jurisdiction over all 
felony cases.

An information is an 
accusation against you 
for a criminal offense, 
without an indictment. 
The difference between 
an information and an 
indictment is that an 
information is presented 
by a public officer, rather 
than a grand jury.

A grand jury is a group 
of citizens tasked with 
determining whether to 
bring an indictment 
against you, as a 
potential defendant. You 
have the right to a grand 
jury, unless you waive 
this right.

At arraignment, you will 
be read the charges 
being brought against 
you according to an 
information or 
indictment. You will then 
have the chance to 
plead not guilty, guilty, or 
no contest.

The West Virginia Parole 
Board makes 
independent decisions 
regarding the conditional 
release of adult 
offenders. If released on 
parole, you will be 
assigned a parole officer 
and must follow your 
conditions of release.

If you violate any 
conditions of your 
probation, you may be 
arrested and brought to 
court for a hearing and 
face further 
consequences, including 
revocation of your 
probation. 
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**If you have 
demonstrated that you 
qualify for court- 
appointed counsel with 
an eligibility affidavit, 
your attorney will be 
present for your Initial 
Hearing or Preliminary 
Examination.
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You can plead guilty 
instead of insisting 
that the prosecution 
prove you guilty at a 
trial. You may be able 
to get a "plea 
bargain" where you 
are given a lighter 
sentence or allowed 
to plead to a lesser 
offense. 

During your trial, both 
the prosecutor and your 
defense attorney will 
present evidence 
through witnesses who 
testify about what they 
saw or know. After all 
the evidence is 
presented, the attorneys 
will give their closing 
arguments. The jury 
then decides if you are 
guilty beyond a 
reasonable doubt or not 
guilty.

Appeal

After sentencing, you 
can submit an appeal to 
the Supreme Court of 
Appeals of West Virginia  
if you believe you were 
wrongly convicted or 
your sentence is too 
harsh. An appeal is not 
another trial but an 
opportunity for you to 
raise specific errors that 
might have occured at 
trial.

Habeas Corpus

If you are imprisoned, 
you have the right to 
challenge the legality of 
your imprisonment--or 
the conditions in which 
you are being 
imprisoned--through a 
petition for a writ of 
habeas corpus 
submitted to the circuit 
court. 

You may be sentenced 
to a period of probation, 
during which you remain 
in the community under 
the supervision of a 
probation officer. 
Community corrections 
can involve home 
confinement or day 
report.

For certain charges, you 
may be subject to 
extended supervision, a 
period of supervision 
that takes place after 
you discharge your 
sentence. During this 
period, you must follow 
the conditions of your 
release, and are subject 
to reincarceration if you 
violate these conditions. 

Supreme Court

Before trial, the 
prosecuting attorney 
may be willing to enter 
into a pre-trial diversion 
agreement with you. The 
agreement says that you 
will not be prosecuted 
for the crime if you 
comply with certain 
conditions over a period 
of time, up to 24 
months.

If you are convicted, 
either by pleading guilty 
or by being found guilty 
after a trial, you will have 
a sentencing hearing. 
Before this hearing, your 
attorney may submit 
sentencing memoranda 
to the court, arguing for 
a proposed sentence. At 
your hearing, the judge 
will allow you to speak 
before giving you your 
sentence.  
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