NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS
50-State Survey of Trial Court Assigned Counsel Rates for 2013

STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Alabama $70 Class A Felony: $4,000 2011
Class B Felony: $3,000
Class C Felony: $2,000
Misdemeanors: $1,500
Authority: Code of Alabama 1975 § 15-12-21
Alaska $60 in court Felony Trial: $4,000 1986
Felony disposition without trial: $2,000
$50 out of court Misdlemeanor trial: $800
Misdemeanor Disposition without trial: $400
Authority: Alaska Administrative Code Title 2 § 60.010
Arizona Varies by county None 2005
Maricopa County (Phoenix)
$70 for major felonies
(such as murder or manslaughter)
Uses a flat fee for other charges
Class 1,2,3 Felony: $1,250
Class 4,5,6 Felony: $900
Misdemeanor: $400
Authority: Arizona Revised Statute § 13-4013(A):
Compensation for services rendered to the defendant shall be in an amount that
the court in its discretion deems reasonable, considering the services performed.
Arkansas Class A or Y Felony: $70 - $90  None 2012

Other felony:$60 - $80
Misdemeanor: $50 - $80

Travel hours paid at % hourly rate

Authority: Arkansas Code Annotated § 16-87-211(0)2) oo, 2001
Directs the Arkansas Public Defender Commission to establish rates
Payment & Expense Reimbursement Guidelines ..., 2012

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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50-State Survey of Trial Court Assigned Counsel Rates for 2013

STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
California Varies by county None 1951

San Francisco Superior Court
Indigent Defense Administration:
Serious felonies: $106

Felonies: $89

Misdemeanors: $66

Authority: California Penal Code § 987.2:
Assigned counsel shall receive a reasonable sum for compensation and for
necessary expenses, the amount of which shall be determined by the court

Colorado Type A Felony: $68 Class 1 Felonies with trial / without trial: 2008

$24,000/ $712,000

Type B Felony: $65 Class 2 Felonies with trial / without trial:
$70,000/ $5,000

Misdemeanors:$65 Class 3 - 6 Felonies with trial / without trial:
$6,000/ $3,000
Misdemeanors with trial / without trial:
$2.000/ $1,000

Authority: Chief Justice Directive 04-04

Connecticut Felony: $75 Most cases are handled through 2013
flat rate contracts:
Misdemeanor: $50 Class A and B Felonies: $1,000 per case

Class C Felony and Misdemeanor: $350 per case

Authority: Connecticut Public Defender Services Commission

Delaware $60 maximum Felonies: $2,000 2012
Misdemeanors: $1,000

Authority: Rules of Criminal Procedure for the Superior
Court of the State of Delaware Rule 44(c)(1)

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Florida Flat rate which varies Statutory Maximums 2003
depending on the Life felony: $3,000
offense charged Felony: $2,500

Misdemeanor: $1,000

Flat Rates

Life felony: $2,500
Felony: $750 to $1,500
Misdemeanor: $400

Authority: Florida Statute Annotated § 27.5304 (sets maximum compensation)
& Annual General Appropriations Act (sets flat rate)

Georgia Georgia Public Defender Flat fee structure authorized by statute 2011
Standards Council contracts
with individual attorneys

Authority: Code of Georgia Annotated § 17-12-22

Hawaii $90 Felony: $6,000 2005
Misdemeanor jury trial: $3,000
Misdemeanor: $1,500
Petty Misdemeanor: $900

Authority: Hawaii Revised Statute § 802-5

Idaho The court shall prescribe None 1998
a reasonable rate of
compensation

Authority: |daho Official Code § 19-860(b)

lllinois For Cook County For Cook County 2000
$40 in court Felony: $1,250
$30 out of court Misdemeanor: $150

All other counties establish
rates independently

Authority: 725 lllinois Compiled Statutes § 5/113-3

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Indiana Determined by court None 2012

Indiana Public Defender
Commission Standards:
Not less than $70

Authority: Indiana Code 33-40-8-2 & ...oooviiiiiiiiiiii e 2004

Indiana Public Defender Commission Standards for

Indigent Defense Services in Non-Capital Cases ........c..coovvevreeiniioieiionies 2012
lowa State Public Defender State Public Defender has 2007

authorized to use established fee limitations

flat fee contracts Class A Felony: $18,000

Class B Felony: $3,600

If not under contract Class C & D Felonies and

then Class A Felony: $70 Aggravated Misdemeanors: $1,200

Class B Felony: $65 Serious Misdemeanors: $600

All other charges: $60 Simple Misdemeanors: $300

Authority: lowa Code Annotated § 13B.4 (flat fee contracts) &
lowa Code Annotated § 815.7 (hourly rates)

Kansas $80 an hour but can be Kansas Board of Indigent 2007
lowered by the Chief Judge  Defense Services sets
of any Judicial District or the  maximum fees for some felonies:
Kansas Board of Indigent Varies from $930 to $1,240
Defense Services

Rate set by Board: $62

Authority: Kansas Statutes Annotated § 22-4507 &
Kansas Administrative Regulations 105-5-2, 105-5-6

Kentucky Department of Public Department of Public Advocacy uses 2002
Advocacy uses mostly flat fee  mostly flat fee contracts but has
contracts but has proposed  proposed caps ranging from $2,500 for
hourly rates of class A felonies to $375 for
$100 for felonies and misdemeanors in non-trial cases
$75 for misdemeanors

ﬂl—thority: Kentucky Revised Statutes Annotated § 31.235

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Louisiana Uses flat fee Contracts None 2007

Authority: Louisiana Revised Statutes Annotated § 15:147

Maine $50 Class A Crime (max. sentence 2012
of 30 years): $2,500

Class B & C Crimes against a
person (max. sentence of
10 & 5 years respectively): $1,875

Class B & C Crimes against property
(max. sentence of 10 & 5 years
respectively): $1,250

Class D & E Crimes against a person
(max. sentence of 1 year & 6 months
respectively): $625 in Superior Court or
$450 in District Court

Authority: Code of Maine Rules § 94-649, Chapter 301

Maryland Maryland Administrative Felonies: $3,000 2008
Code calls for the same
hourly rate as federal panel  Misdemeanors: $750
attorneys “as the annual
budsget permits”

Current rate: $50

Authority: Maryland Code of Criminal Procedure § 16-207
Maryland Administrative Code 14.06.02.06

Massachusetts  $60 in Superior Court None+ 2011

$50 in District Court

Authority: Massachusetts General Laws Annotated 211D § 11

+There is no per case maximum but there is an annual cap on billable hours of 1,650.

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Michigan Varies by County: Counties often use flat 1981
Reasonable compensation fee contracts
as determined by
the chief judge

In Wayne County (Detroit)
attorneys are initially paid a
flat fee based on the possible
sentence and are then

paid by the “event.”

Initial flat fee for case with
potential sentence of

5 years: $250

5 - 10 years: $300

10 - 20 years: $350

For a “Disposition Conference”
that results in: a dismissal $130
a guilty plea $350

Sentencing: $60
Evidentiary Hearing: $80
Jury Trial % day: $90

Authority: Michigan Compiled Law Annotated 775.16 § 11

Minnesota State Board of Public Defense  Relies on flat fee contracts 1991
determines compensation rates
but relies on flat fee contracts

Authority: Minnesota Statutes Annotated § 611.215

Mississippi Judge approves amount $1,000 in Circuit Court 1971
of compensation $200 if the case does not
originate in a court of record

Authority: Mississippi Code Annotated § 99-15-17

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Missouri Public Defender Additional compensation is 1982
Commission uses flat provided if the case goes to trial

fee contracts with
individual attorneys

Class A or B Felony
$750 to $2,000

Class C or D Felony
$750 to $1,500

Misdemeanor $375

Authority: Missouri Revised Statutes § 600.042

Montana $60 None 2012

Plus an additional office
stipend of $25 per month

Authority: Montana Code Annotated § 47-1-216 .......ccovoveiiiieeiei, 2005
The Montana Public Defender Commission has the authority

to set rates of compensation

Office of State Public Defender Administrative

Policy 130: Fee Schedule 2072 ......ooiiiiiiiiieeeee e 2012

Nebraska Varies by county None 1995

Lancaster County (Lincoln):
$75 District Court
$50 County Court

Authority: Revised Statutes of Nebraska § 29-3997
Empowers the Commission on Public Advocacy to set rates

Nevada $100 Felony or Gross Misdemeanor: $2,500 2003
Misdemeanor: $750

Authority: Nevada Revised Statutes Annotated § 7.125

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under speciai circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
New Hampshire $60 Felonies: $4,100 2008

Misdemeanors: $1,400

Authority: Superior Court Rules, Rule 47

New Jersey $60 in court None# 2012
$50 out of court
Authority: New Jersey Statutes Annotated § 2A:158A-7 ......c.covveveriinae. 1967
Empowers the Public Defender to establish rates
Office of the Public Defender Pool Attorney Application Process................ 2012
New Mexico New Mexico Public Flat fee based on seriousness 2012
Defender Department of the offense

uses flat fee contracts

Felonies

st Degree: $700

2nd Degree: $650
3rd Degree: $595
4th Degree: $540

Misdemeanor: $180

Authority: New Mexico Statutes Annotated § 31-15-7CT1) oo 1978
Empowers the New Mexico Public Defender Department to establish rates
Contract Counsel Legal Services Requests for Proposals..........ccc.cocvoiiii 2012

New York Felony: $75 Felony: $4,400 2003
Misdemeanor: $60 Misdlemeanor: $2,400

Authority: New York County Law § 722-b

#Attorneys may only bill up to 9 hours on any given day.

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
North Carolina Class A—D None 2012
Felonies: $70

All other cases in
District Court: $55

Authority: General Statutes of North Carolina § 7A-498.5 ..., 2001

Office of Indigent Defense Services sets rates

Private AssiSned COUNSEI RALES: cvusvisassimis ssvsmsinssmuisns irasmarss sovisvassasverinn 2012
North Dakota  $75 Presumed rates 2012

Felony: $525 (7 hours worked)
Misdemeanor: $300 (4 hours worked)

Authority: North Dakota Century Code § 29-07-0.1T. 7., 2005

The Commission on Legal Counsel for Indigents sets rates

Presumed Rate for Attorney Fee Reimbursement ..............c..cooceveiiieienn. 2012
Ohio $60 in court Felonies 2003

$50 out of court Tst to 3rd Degree: $3,000

4th and 5th Degree: $2,500
Misdemeanors: $1,000

Authority: Ohio Revised Code § 120.041975 ..., 1975
Ohio Public Defender sets assigned counsel rates
and maximum levels of compensation

Standards & Guidelines for Appointed Counsel Reimbursement ................. 2000
State Maximum Fee Schedule ..o 2003

Oklahoma Oklahoma Indligent Defense  Felony: $3,500 1993
System uses flat Misdemeanor: $800

fee contracts

Authority: Oklahoma Statutes Title 22 § 1355.8

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.

Gideon at 50: A Three-Part Examination of Indigent Defense in America



NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYERS
50-State Survey of Trial Court Assigned Counsel Rates for 2013

STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
Oregon $45 None 2013
Authority: Oregon Revised Statutes § 151216 ..o 2001
Oregon Public Defense Services Commission sets rates
Public Defense Payment Policies and Procedures...........c..c.ccoeeveeeieiivenennn. 2013
Pennsylvania  Varies by county Some counties use flat fee schedules 1969

Judge determines

reasonable compensation Alleghany County (Pittsburgh)
Preparation for Serious felonies
(rape, robbery, child abuse): $1,500

All other cases: $500
Preliminary hearings: $250
Trial % day: $250

Trial full day: $500

Authority: 16 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes § 9960.7

Rhode Island  Class 1 Felony: $90 Class 1 Felony: $10,00 2012
Class 2 Felony: $60 Class 9 Felony: $5,000
Misdemeanor: $50 Misdemeanor: $1,500
Authority: General Laws of Rhode Island § 8-15-2........ccoovoviiviiiii 1956
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court has authority to set rates
Supreme Court Executive Order No. 2016-06 ........ooocooviviiiioi 2012
South Carolina  $60 in court Felony: $3,500 1993
$40 out of court Misdemeanor: $1,000

Authority: Code of Laws of South Carolina § 17-3-50

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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STATE HOURLY RATE MAXIMUM FEE’ YEAR ENACTED
South Dakota  $84 None 2013
Authority: South Dakota Codified Laws § 23A-40-8 ... 1983

Judsge has authority to set rates
Unified Judicial System Policy regarding court appointed attorney fees......2013

Tennessee $50 in court Felony: $1,500 2005
$40 out of court Misdemeanor: $1,000

Authority: Tennessee Supreme Court Rule 13

Texas Varies by county Varies by county 2011
Average payment to
defense counsel in the five
largest counties (Harris, Dallas,
Tarrant, Bexar & Travis)

Felony: $653
Misdemeanor: $120%*

Authority: Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 26.05
County judges authorized to set rates

Utah Counties often use flat Felony: $3,500 1997
fee contracts Misdemeanor: $1,000

Average attorney compensation for felony cases: $400++

Authority: Utah Code Annotated § 77-32-304.5
Trial judge sets rates, subject to statutory maximums

§ State of South Dakota Unified Judicial System policy is to increase court appointed attorney fees
in an amount equal to any cost of living increase for state employees approved by the legislature.

**“Harris County Public Defender Preliminary Report on Operations and Outcomes”
prepared by the Council of State Governments Justice Center (2012)

++"Failing Gideon: Utah's Flawed County by County Public Defender System”
American Civil Liberty Union of Utah (2011)

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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Yermont $50 Major Felony: $5,000 1994
Minor Felony: $2,000
Misdlemeanor: $1,000

Authority: 13 Vermont Statutes Annotated Title 13 § 5205 .......c.ccccoeiiinnns 1981

Courts set rates

Supreme Court Administrative Order NO. 4. 1994
Virginia Attorneys are paid a statutory  District Court $240 2013

fee based on the charge
Circuit Court Felony punishable by

District Court $120 more than 20 years: $2,085

Circuit Court Felony All other felonies: $600

punishable by more than

20 years: $1,235 Misdemeanors punishable by jail: $158

All other felonies: $445

Misdemeanors punishable

by jail: $158

Authority: Code of Virginia Annotated § 19.2-163 ... 2007

Court sets rates, subject to statutory limits

Supreme Court of Virginia Chart of Allowances 2013 ..., 2013
Washington Varies by county Varies by county 1984

King County (Seattle) Many counties use flat fee contracts

Class A Felony: $70
Class B/C Felony: $55
Misdemeanor: $50

Authority: Revised Code of Washington Annotated § 36.26.090
Court awards reasonable compensation

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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West Virginia  $65 in court $3,000 1990
$45 out of court

Authority: West Virginia Code § 29-21-13(a)

Wisconsin $40 None 1995

Authority: Wisconsin Statutes § 977.08

Wyoming $100 in court Maximum None 2007
Minimum $30 and
Maximum $60 for out of court

Authority: Wyoming Rules of Criminal Procedure Rule 44(e)

*Maximum fees listed in italics are subject to waiver under special circumstances.
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